Wednesday, 18 April 2018

A Video in Praise of Organic Learning

At Dreaming Spires Home Learning, we use this term "organic learning" a lot when describing our style of teaching.

We're talking "organic" here!


What exactly does that look like? Here's a video with some thoughts, but also, and invitation to share your ideas, too. After all, we're all home-educating parents, and learning from each other is key to our own family's growth.




Saturday, 31 March 2018

Early Bird Registration is NOW OPEN for 2018-2019

The REGISTRATION FORM for the academic year 2018-2019 is now live for the Early Bird registration period for our unique, online courses taught live for homeschooled teens worldwide.


Oh, the excitement!!

The EARLY BIRD PERIOD runs 1st April to 31st May, 2018.

Paying the registration fee for your chosen courses during the Early Bird Period will secure your place and entitle you to course fees at last year's rates, to be paid by 1st of September, 2018.

For full information, please refer to the Fees page of the website. This especially applies if you have used Early Bird registration in the past since the fee structure changed last year.


Thursday, 15 March 2018

Proposed Timetable of Dates

I've been looking ahead to plot the next academic year and thought I'd share how we get 30 weeks into our year while enjoying generous blocks of holiday!


DateEvent
Sept 10th 2018First week of Term
October 22nd 2018This week is a holiday for Autumn Break
October 29th 2018Classes resume this week
December 10th 2018This is the last week of class before Christmas Break
Dec 17th - Jan 6thChristmas Break
January 7th 2019Classes resume this week
April 15th 2019Start of Easter break for 2 weeks
April 29th 2019Classes resume this week
May 13th 2019Last week of classes before the end of the academic year


Sunday, 18 February 2018

Meet our Newest Tutor and History Teacher

Welcome to our newest tutor at Dreaming Spires Home Learning: a specialist in modern history, Yvonne Mason is a well-known online tutor amongst home-educated high schoolers in the UK, and we are so pleased that she is able to join us next year for a fascinating course about World War 1 and World War 2.

Yvonne will teach Modern History


She took her undergraduate degree in English Language and Literature, then an MA in history from Royal Holloway in London while working as a costumed historical interpreter at the Tower of London. She has been working as an online tutor since 2001 in both English and history, home educates her own daughter, and in her spare time, is an avid embroiderer. She has plans to study for a PhD in Medieval Studies very soon.



Thursday, 8 February 2018

STOP PRESS! Timetable out now for 2018-2019 classes

The title says it all ... we are publishing our tentative timetable for the next academic year, unveiling our newest course offerings like chemistry, French, modern history, and creative writing.

The year that packs a punch!

Registrations will open for our Early Bird period over Easter weekend, when registration fees will hold your place for the course of your choice. Last year, most of our courses filled up by the middle of May, so put a reminder on your calendar so you don't miss out!


Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
English Renaissance: KP  8 am  CST / 2 pm UK  English Middle Ages : JP      8 am  CST / 2 pm  UK  Ancient History Rome:  AS 8 am  CST / 2 pm  UK  English British Novel: KP      8 am  CST / 2 pm  UK 

Spanish 1 : JB will meet at   9 am  CST /3 pm  UK   Spanish 2:  JB will meet at  9 am  CST / 3 pm  UK  

History: 1914-1945: The Road to War: YM          10 am CST/4 pm UK  French 1: JB will meet at 10:30 am  CST / 4:30 pm  UK   French 2: JB will meet at 10:30 am CST / 4:30 pm UK   Biology KJ at 10 am CST/ 4 pm UK
General Science  KJ at 11 am CST/ 5 pm UK Creative Writing:  JP noon CST/6 pm UK English British Novel:  JP noon CST/6 pm UK

English Middle Ages KP    1 pm  CST / 7 pm  UK 
Ancient History Greek:  AS      1 pm  CST / 7 pm  UK 

Two courses, same time
Chemistry  KJ at 1 pm CST/    7 pm UK

English American Lit: KP          1 pm  CST / 7 pm  UK 







Wednesday, 20 December 2017

Now Accepting Mid-Term Entries for January 2018

If you've got tired of your curriculum already, if you're new to home education and looking for something to inspire you, or you just think it's time your teen buckled down and started working harder, then Dreaming Spires Home Learning may be your answer.

Are your current studies leaving you cold???
Let Dreaming Spires warm you up!

We offer live and online courses and accept mid-term entries for January, so your child can jump into our New Year units with any of our subjects, whether Spanish or Biology, Ancient History or English Literature and Composition.



Jump into our courses at mid-term!
We've been allowing people to join us mid-year since we first began, and nearly 100% stay with our programme for two-, three-, or four-plus years, so we know it ends up being more of a long-term love affair with our approach to studying, than a short-term quick-fix.

Get in touch today about registering for courses - we'll kick off the new year during the week of 8th of January, 2018. All classes will take a couple of students so the timetable is completely open.